In the morning we got to tour around Scotland’s oldest castle which was a really cool experience.  One thing I’ve realized as the trip is now coming to a close is that there is much more profound history over here in the UK.  The infrastructure, the culture, the lifestyle; it’s all so different than lifestyle in America.  My favorite part about the castle were the many different canons that still sit guarding the castle walls (most of them not functioning anymore, obviously).  After this, we got to listen to a speaker from the Edinburgh Film Festival, which was also very interesting.  It was pretty evident that the film festival was going on because all throughout the streets of Edinburgh, there were posters put up about it and the city was filled with younger people flocking to take in all the film festival has to offer.

IMG_0365.JPG

However, my favorite part of Scotland had yet to come that day.  We had gotten the afternoon off to explore wherever we wanted to go, and a few of us seized the opportunity to visit St. Andrews Old Course; where essentially the sport of golf came into existence.  Let me tell you, I think a tear just about trickled down my face when I got to stand on the infamous 18th hole.  It was the most surreal moment of my life, as I could see in my head the legends like Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods walking just a few feet away from where I was standing.  The advertisement in the town of St. Andrews is really centered around golf, obviously.  You couldn’t walk down a street and not see a pro shop filled with St. Andrews gear, and that pretty much represents where most of their revenue comes from.  Also when they host major playoffs there, there are extreme amounts of media taking place.  It is televised internationally and people from all over the world tune in to watch their favorite golfers battle for the title.  Along with being televised, it is also a way for major corporations, (Nike, Ping, Callaway, Titleist) to advertise their products to the viewers through the athletes they sponsor.  Unfortunately we were not able to play the course, even though I tried to set up a tee time months in advance (*cough cough Trevor cough*), nevertheless just being there was enough for me, easily one of my favorite parts of the trip.

IMG_0368.JPG

IMG_0370.JPG

History of St. Andrews