Just like that, my study abroad is over. I feel as though I’ve only been here a few days, but in reality, I’ve been hopping from country to country for five weeks now. Although I’ve been abroad before, I’ve never had an experience quite like this one. This trip truly taught me how to be a better traveller and a better person. I feel more independent and confident in myself as a result of the things I have learned on this trip.

Originally, I chose this program because I liked the opportunity for diversity that it brought to the table. I loved the way that this program visited more than one country and allowed us to see several different lifestyles within the tiny area that makes up the United Kingdom. The difference between Belfast and London and finally Scotland were huge even though they all belong to the United Kingdom. I was fortunate enough to get a glimpse into religion and politics here in the United Kingdom and learn about viewpoints other than my own.

I was also lucky enough to be a part of a program where the people all came from very diverse backgrounds as well. Despite it being a mass media program, not all of the students were from the College of Communication Arts and Sciences at Michigan State. In fact, not even everyone was from Michigan State. One of the students on this trip was from Eastern Michigan (shoutout to my girl Hallie). And while most of the people on this trip were from Michigan, there were a couple people from Chicago, like myself, and one student who studies at Michigan State in a masters program who is from all the way across the world in China.

Having to see and live with the same people for five weeks makes you learn a lot about each other, and even a lot about yourself. I also loved the way that everyone in this program found a common chord by taking this mass media program, even though we all come from a wide variety of majors. I’ve been able to learn so many new things that I never thought would relate back to my major, but now I see how important they really are. Although there were plenty of bumps in the road, this program taught me more about communication than I ever could have learned by sitting in a classroom in East Lansing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.