Today is our last full day in Edinburgh, Scotland. Actually, it’s our last full day of this study abroad trip. I have mixed emotions about this trip coming to an end; I’m ready to go home but I am going to miss seeing the wonderful people i’ve been with for the past five weeks. I did not expect to become close to anyone on this trip, but I have many friends that I know I will continue to talk to back in the states.

Our last adventures for this trip were more relaxed, but very informative. This morning we first visited the Palace of Holyrood, which is where the Queen stays when she visits Scotland. The palace was beautiful, and had so much history inside. This palace is where previous Kings and Queens resided. I have never heard of this place prior to coming here. When I first heard the name of this place, it reminded me of Hollywood back in the states.

After leaving the Palace of Holyrood, we went on another magical adventure. We all met up at Spoon cafe, which is where J.K. Rowling wrote some of her Harry Potter books. We were all assigned a question prior to this activity about J.K. Rowling and the books, and shared our answers with one another. It was interesting to hear everyones answers, there was a lot of things that I didn’t know about the author and the books, but learned. After leaving Spoons, we went to The Elephant House which is where J.K. Rowling wrote her books over coffee and cake in its relaxed environment.

Tonight is what we are calling “the last supper”, as we will have our last dinner with one another and say our goodbyes. This trip has been quite the experience. Learning about all of the different types of media (advertising, journalism, media and info/film, and communications) in five different countries was an opportunity I would have never thought I would have. I am sad to say goodbye to the United Kingdom and Ireland, but I am ready to take my knowledge back home with me.