All I knew this morning was that “Holyroodhouse” was a strange word. Now that I’ve been to the Palace of Holyroodhouse, I can say that there is a lot more to it than just a funny sounding name. The palace is gorgeous and has a unique and interesting history.

IMG_2503
Quadrangle at the Palace of Holyroodhouse.

The Palace of Holyroodhouse is where the Queen resides when she visits Scotland. Former kings, queens, and lords of Scotland lived there in the past, as well. As a matter of fact, the Queen will be visiting for Holyrood Week during the first week of July for a garden party.

IMG_2521
Part of the gardens of the palace.

The prospect of the garden party was intriguing to me when I heard it this morning. The thought of going into a lush, green garden to hang out with the Queen of England and drink tea seems surreal.

Coming from the United States, I had never even heard of the Palace of Holyroodhouse, its purpose, or the garden parties with the Queen. I feel that American media should do a better job promoting greater coverage of this event. This would help out the tourism industry in Scotland, specifically Edinburgh, and would be all around fun for Americans to hear about. Though similar in many regards, American and British cultures are different, and the thought of sitting in a garden with President Trump and drinking tea just seems comical to me. I wish I could still be here during the event, but I’m glad I at least got to learn about it while exploring the same halls that the Queen walks during her yearly visits. I just wish they would have offered me a key to the city as they do to Queen Elizabeth upon her arrival…

IMG_2525.JPG
The abbey extending into the gardens.