IMG_2345

I will be completely honest. When I first arrived in Edinburgh, I wasn’t the most excited about the last stop. I was just enjoying the height of my London experience, and felt that experience quickly halted. At this point, it is our fifth week of the trip and ready to go back home (or London). Luckily, we had the most amazing living arrangements. We stayed in the apartment dorms at The University of Edinburgh. Another positive thing that happened as we reached Scotland was more media focused class time, besides tourist activities. The trip to BBC, video games lecture, and film festival was very educational.

IMG_2366

Scotland first hand was a very chill and slow place. The people are very nice and conversational. When my roommates and I were at Tesco, we were discussing about our meals. A local entered a conversation about food, and ended up giving my roommate his business card. People of Scotland are very open, and blunt like the british.

IMG_2328

During my time in Scotland I learned so much about the Scotland culture. From the kilt culture, food, and mediaFullSizeRender

Scotland is filled with royal history and old castles. One of the many castles we visited was the Palace of Holyroodhouse. It is a historical royal landmark of Scotland. It is home to a lineage of royalty.

IMG_2430

I learned so much about royal history and culture. Walking through the castle reminded me a lot of Game of Thrones.

IMG_2424

Our last day of Scotland came quick, we ended out journey with dinner (pictured above). Our group dinner was a time of reflection. I went from dreaming of traveling to a different country, to actually doing it. In a matter of a few weeks, I have been to Ireland, Wales, London, Paris and Scotland. I learned many things while away from home.

One of the biggest things I have learned ,the effort it takes to be open minded. From pushing myself to hike in hot weather, to living with a group of people I have never knew. From having space in hotels , to no space on three day bus tours (which was torture) and tiny hostels, we really had to adapt to live with each other. It made me appreciate my family and friends. I spent a lot of time catching up with friends and family, who helped lift me up when I felt down while away. My time away from home, made me see how many friends I have that care about me. I was sent constant messages asking when I was coming home, and check-up calls from loved ones. It was a great feeling to know there were people thinking of me.

I also had to learn how to battle conflict. I experienced a few incidents, where I had to let my concerns be known. At times it was draining being away. When I was in Wales, I adopted the mindset of not letting others steal my experience away. Since that moment, I made sure to make the best of each moment away.

While traveling, and living out a suitcase I also learned how to adapt to new surroundings. I was constantly changing areas with different climate, social norms, and roommates. In Scotland we were able to have our own rooms. Prior to Scotland, I had roommates from 1 person, 3 roommates, and the most 10 other roommates. Being someone who was raised as a only child, I was must say I was pushed out my comfort zone. My teacher once explained to us, that the moment you leave you comfort zone, is when you begin to learn. I also was introduced to a world outside of my own. In America, if you never have traveled before, it is easy to not know about anything else other than your own culture.

With Edinburgh being a much slower city, it was much quieter, and allowed me to think and reflect on how I have grown. I learned how to adjust my mindset, how to effectively communicate, and how to pack. As I end this final paper. I close out one chapter of my journey, but not my passport.