I may not be Scottish, but growing up I was always around Scottish culture because of my childhood best friend. She was a Highland Dancer with a large Scottish background. I attended her dance competitions, Scottish festivals and family parties. It was never out of the ordinary for me to be woken up on Saturday mornings by hearing Scotland the Brave  playing. With that being said kilts and bagpipes aren’t foreign objects for me. IMG_4572

Today we visited Kinloch Anderson, one of the best kilt manufacturers in the world. We learned about the history of the tartan and how kilts are made. For people in the United States, plaid is just another type of pattern, but in Scotland it’s called tartan and it means something so much more. It was interesting to learn about the different types of tartan and what they mean. Certain tartan is used to identify clans and families. The Royal Family has their own tartan pattern and they even get their Kilts made at Kinloch Anderson. Knowing that we were at the factory that produces the Royal Families Scottish wear was really cool. IMG_4571

After learning about the history and making of kilts I realized that we don’t have anything like this in the United States. Kilts are one of the most identifiable pieces of clothing. The first thing I think of when I think of Scotland are kilts. America doesn’t have a piece of clothing with so much history and meaning. It’s nice to finally know that kilts are so much more than “man skirts”.

IMG_4575
Traditional Highland dress